Little House In Ise


Shirakawaya — Martial Tailor Shop
April 29, 2009, 09:39
Filed under: Aikido, Japan | Tags: , , ,

Last year, I bought a new hakama at a hole-in-the-wall shop introduced to me by one of my sempai at Honbu. I didn’t catch the name of the place and didn’t really have a feeling for where it was. So, I gave his work a thumbs-up review but couldn’t really direct any business to him because I had no idea where his shop was. That has changed.

At the Honbu Dojo Kagami Birakishiki, Mr. Shirakawa staked out the corner that turns from the main road up to the dojo and passed out leaflets for his shop. I took one, tucked it into my little packet of Aikido related papers and forgot about it.

It may seem soon but considering how much training I have been doing it is not so surprising that I found three small holes in the knee of my hakama. My efforts to repair the small holes resulted in one large hole after some energetic suwari waza. So, I decided to call in an expert to patch it properly (we don’t a have a sewing machine and even if we did, I don’t know if I could drive it). Megumi found the leaflet and made an appointment for me.

On the day of our appointment, Mr. Shirakawa asked me to call ahead about a half hour early. I did and followed his instructions to get there. He is now in a new, larger (by a smidge) location that is much easier to find. He patched my Hakama for free and did a lovely job of it. His excellent work on the first hakama and his repair added up to salesmanship that I can’t resist. I ordered another dogi (how decadent!) and new hakama. I promised that I would send work his way and this post is my effort to do just that.

If you are in Tokyo and want a hand tailored hakama or dogi stop by Shirakawaya (please call a bit in advance). He also sells bokuto, iaito, jo and other buki but I have no experience with those and can not speak for their quality.

白川屋
〒169−0051 
東京都新宿区西早稲田3−31−9
第二桂木ビル703
  Shirakawaya
Dai 2 Katsuragi Biru 703
Nishi Waseda 3-31-9
Shinjuku-ku
Tokyo-To
JAPAN 169-0051
TEL 03-3207-7652
FAX 03-3207-7657
5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi,
I tried to call M. Shirakawa, but apparently, the phone number has changed… I guess adress changed too ?
Have you new informations contact ?
Thank you 🙂

Comment by Jo

Thanks for telling me! I’ll update the number when I get home tonight.

e

Your understanding is appreciated, this was typed w/hooves…

Comment by Eric R C Holcomb

You’re welcome ^^
I search on google.jp, but couldn’t find anything, so… i’m waiting your answer 🙂

Comment by Jo

The correct number is 03-3207-7652.

Please pardon the hassle! I will update the post as soon as I can get to a real computer.

e.

Comment by Eric Holcomb

Fixed! Thanks again!

Comment by Eric Holcomb




Leave a Reply

